Farmers vs. Independent

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

milleniumgirl
Insurance Journal Fan

Farmers vs. Independent

Post by milleniumgirl »

Hello to all... I am new to this forum, but not new to the insurance industry. I am currently a Farmers Insurance agent (5 years) and am frustrated and angry with the company. My frustrations? You name it... the lack of ethics within the corporate management to idiot DMs to the increasing micro management to the incompetence of policy services to the archaic billing system to the POS dashboard. To top it all off, we had a huge rate increase this year which is reeking havoc to my book of business. Anyway, I am considering either buying an independent agency or starting one. My Farmers contract value isn't more than 40k, so buying one is probably a pipedream. I would like some feedback from others who have been Farmers agents and are now independents. For example, how do I get to be an independent? Just get appointment with a few companies and open my doors? How hard is it to get appointed with companies like Allied, Safeco, Travellers, Progressive, etc.? Are you happier as an independent? Is it easier to write business? Any feedback would be helpful and appreciated.

milleniumgirl
Big Dog
Insurance Journal Addict

Post by Big Dog »

Rather than starting your own agency, many agencies are looking for good producers (my definition of a good producer - one that really knows/understands insurance, knows and understands their clients needs, and won't recommend or sell the client something that they don't need, want or can't afford).

You'll see another thread about non-compete agreements. Make sure that the clients you bring in belong to you - that is, if you leave, you can take your book of business with you.
Porter
Insurance Journal Addict

Post by Porter »