Agency Corp Status C vs S ??

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

TXPLAgent
Insurance Journal Fan

Agency Corp Status C vs S ??

Post by TXPLAgent »

I have recently purchased a small PL agency and established a corporation ( 1 month ago) -- trying to determine if best to continue as a C or file for S status.

A few facts:

Gross revenue $145,000.00
My loan payments for the book is @$30,000.00 a year for about 5 years. ( no interest)
After a reasonable salary I plan to reinvest all profits for next 10-20 years for growth.
I have no plans of selling any time soon.

I would appreciate any experienced feedback.
Insismypassion
Insurance Journal Enthusiast

Re: Agency Corp Status C vs S ??

Post by Insismypassion »

Not being an accountant myself, just a former agency owner, I can only offer an opinion.

Depends on what your goals are.

"C" Corps are taxed as a legal person, and then you are taxed. The advantage is the "C" Corp can put aside money for capital improvements and growth, just taxed at the corporate rate.

"S" Corps are not taxed as a person, all "profits" (including your salary) flow through to you and are taxed at your rate. You can still set the money aside, but it is taxed at your higher rate.

As I said, an accountant and tax attorney can give you clearer answers, but if you're wanting to set money aside to reinvest, I think "C" corp is better in the long run, especially if you are going to look for investors in the future.
TXPLAgent
Insurance Journal Fan

Post by TXPLAgent »

Thank you Insismypassion . :D I see it the same way, however i am not an CPA and the one that I have consulted with doesnt seem to really understand insurance agencys. Thank you for your time.
wlunday
Insurance Journal Addict

Post by wlunday »