Newbie, Should I Start a Farmers or Independent ?

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

InsuranceGuy10101
Insurance Journal Fan

Newbie, Should I Start a Farmers or Independent ?

Post by InsuranceGuy10101 »

I am new to the business, I have a heavy management and sales back ground. I like the support that farmers gives me but I can't help but think that I will run into a lot of business that I lose to lower rates. I feel that I would be able to over come this with an independent. What are some pro's and con's ? what would you do just staring out? can I take my book of business with me if I leave farmers ? I have found companies like insurance noodle and superior access insurance that will give me the ability to sell the premium names. Please advise
insuranceoldie
Insurance Journal Fan

Re: Newbie, Should I Start a Farmers or Independent ?

Post by insuranceoldie »

Let me be straight forward. Starting a scratch insurance agency either as a captive or if by chance if you can get contracts, as an independent is difficult! Insurers want PRODUCTION of profitable business, ongoing. They want activity that results in policies issued every single month, non-stop. With no insurance experience you are at a disadvantage, not impossible but very difficult.

The captives (Farmers, AMFAM, STATE FARM, ETC) may own the book of business and you don't. They may offer training and a brand but it comes with a hefty price, your unwavering allegiance. To write insurance independently through a middleman (Noodle, SIAA, Superior Access & ETC) severely limits your commission revenue as they take a cut, and in fact THEY may own the renewal, check the contracts.