Call Center Agent Looking for Advice

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

Wabisabi
Insurance Journal Fan

Call Center Agent Looking for Advice

Post by Wabisabi »

Hello everyone, thanks so much for taking the time to read this post. I am a captive agent that has worked at a large inbound insurance call center for the last four years. I am thankful I've had the opportunity to sell auto, home, umbrella. I've also learned to service our auto polices and some home product. I feel I'm at a crossroads in my career and would greatly appreciate any and all feedback. As a company I feel we pay lip service to quality, however it is all based on close rates and policies sold. There is very little accountability and the push to sell at all costs encourages things like not explaining acv on roofing and property, glazing over huge percentage deductibles, incorrect mortgagee information, butchered replacement cost calculations, etc. We sell home insurance on behalf of multiple companies, and no one is really an expert on any particular carrier. Frankly some of these companies are not regarded very highly. Many policies uprate considerably after the inspections or get cancelled and that is generally acceptable. The general theme seems to be you can't make an omelette without breaking eggs. I'm not saying I work with bad people or heartless people, but the overall structure seems very reactive to issues instead of proactive. I make about 50K a year and have good healthcare, but It hurts to see customers hung out to dry. If I am complaining so much I should probably do something about it. Any advice on transitioning to working for a local agency would be great. I won't lie it is a bit of a scary prospect. I'll be having a child soon and want to be financially secure, but I want to feel like I am truly helping people. Thanks for any and all advice on the subject.
cmrc0nsulting
Insurance Journal Fan

Re: Call Center Agent Looking for Advice