Non compete lawsuit

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

Cooper009
Insurance Journal Fan

Non compete lawsuit

Post by Cooper009 »

I am a producer that left a large agency to join another large agency. Former agency is pursuing me for non compete issues, claiming I took confidential info with me in the form of emails I sent myself. I wrote a few accounts (that were not my accounts with the former agency) The new agency advised me to pursue the accounts. When the lawsuit hit, they say you are own your own because of those emails. I am stuck holding the bag. My state will not uphold the noncomp case, but in the mean time I have to rent an attorney at a very high price. ANY ADVISE???
Big Dog
Insurance Journal Addict

Post by Big Dog »

urm....knowing which state might help.

Most non-competes in and of themselves don't hold up. However, it seems you're admitting that you forwarded e-mails to yourself, which could be considered a breach of confidentiality or trade secret.
wlunday
Insurance Journal Addict

Post by wlunday »

You'll probably get more of this...

I look at it as an agency owner. When I hired you to represent me to the community I agreed to pay you substantially (what ever that is). You agreed, because of the level of pay I allowed, that if you ever left my employ, you would leave my clients alone. By paying you and others a fair salary I PURCHASED the sole rights to these accounts.

You left and then stole them from me. I don't care if they were written by another producer here, we had a deal.

When I hire new producers I personally make sure they they fulfill the letter and intent of any previous agreement! It is an integrity thing with me, and it also shows me how well they can produce new accounts, without churning any old business from past employment. Try it, you'll like it!

Maybe your new bosses need to consider this, too.

Swymmer
Young FL Agent
Insurance Journal Fan

Post by Young FL Agent »