Farmers - your opinion

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

Sundance
Insurance Journal Addict

Farmers - your opinion

Post by Sundance »

I know someone who is about to take the plunge from being a CSR at an independent agency to becoming a Farmers Agent. Any advice, any thoughts or words of wisdom on the subject?
kevinraz
Insurance Journal Addict

Farmers

Post by kevinraz »

Sundance, you only need to search the forums here for Farmers and you'll find quite a bit of info, little of it positive.

I'm an ex-Farmers agent and can tell you that though I don't harbor much ill will towards Farmers (having been gone almost 10 years) that few companies seem to generate such negative passion as Farmers Insurance Group.

While I'd urge caution I'll also say that many are successful with FIG. Encourage your friend to do the usual research and then evaluate if this is the best option.

Would also encourage them to check ufaa.com but that is frequently negative, although accurate.
Sundance
Insurance Journal Addict

Post by Sundance »

I think it will be hard for her to go from independent to a captive however she is pretty well set. Not sure what the enticement is other than owning her own which is why I was asking for opinions.

Thank you for your input.
Big Dog
Insurance Journal Addict

Post by Big Dog »

One word...don't

I think you'll find the overall opinion here would be to recommend that your friend NOT become a Farmers agent. As a company, they don't have a great reputation as far as settling claims.

If she wants to become a producer, find a good independent agency that will help train her both in coverage knowledge and requirements, and in how to handle clients.
Sundance
Insurance Journal Addict

Post by Sundance »

Rather amazing these comments...darn near feels like talking to clients (they all hate insurance) :wink: