Newbie Question

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

kent1108
Insurance Journal Enthusiast

Newbie Question

Post by kent1108 »

Hello all,

I am from Florida and while I have many years of insurance experience, I do not have any as a producer. I am interested in opening my own independent insurance agency (P&C and life). My first question is, where do I start? I have done my own research and have found out the following:

I will need to obtain my 2-20 license.
I will need to obtain an E&O policy.
I will need to obtain companies to produce for.
I will need my own office, supplies, compters, staff, etc.

Now, here's where it get's tricky. I have been contacted by a company recently called Brighway Insurance who is a franchise business. They already have contracts in place with over 75 companies to produce for. They require a 50k upfront "franchise fee" and I would need an additional 30k to open the office and provide a buffer until comission starts rolling in. Personally, I do not think this is a bad idea as they already have the contracts to produce in business and from what I understand, these contracts are not easy to obtain individually from companies, especially for a new agent.

Can anyone provide their thoughts?

Thank you!
d's insurance store
Insurance Journal Addict

Re: Newbie Question

Post by d's insurance store »

I don't want to rain on your parade, but experience in 'the industry' is far different that having experienced the 'thrill/agony' of living as a producer (ie, commission only income) or for that matter the difference between being an employee and a business owner.

There are vastly different skill sets for both positions, and merely having some knowledge of insurance, in whatever dicipline you were in may not give you the wherewithall to survive the rough few years that virtually every start-up business goes through.