CPCU - Need specfic study advice

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

prezzoo
Insurance Journal Enthusiast

CPCU - Need specfic study advice

Post by prezzoo »

I’m studying for my first CPCU test and was hoping to get your advice. I just completed the INS courses, which are much easier than CPCU (from what I’ve heard). Of the 4 study segments listed below what do you feel is the best way to study? I’ve heard various arguments for different ways. If you’ve taken the CPCU recently I’d like to hear what you think. I’m a retail P&C agent on Southern CA.

Also, please list how recently you studied for the test.

Chapter Learning Objectives (very broad, listed at beginning of chapter in bullet points)
Definitions
Review questions (review book, usually more specific)
Application questions
wrxnut25

Re: CPCU - Need specfic study advice

Post by wrxnut25 »

I completed my cpcu in 2007. I too completed the INS exams prior to beginning the cpcu studies. I also completed the API designation (two more exams) which also gives you an additional credit toward the cpcu designation.

My recommendation would be to read through the text, purchase the study guide which covers key words in each chapter as well as key questions to test your understanding of the major points from each chapter.

Once I'd completed the text, and gone through the study guide, I'd cram for the exam the day or two before by going through the practice exam provided on cd to help prepare me for the types of questions to expect on the actual exam. This method worked for me, I passed every exam I took, but I never cut corners either. Everyone I know who's tried to cut corners studying for a cpcu exam has failed at least one of them.

Good luck!
waltmarkers

Post by waltmarkers »