Decreasing Labor Intensity

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

scott
Insurance Journal Addict

Decreasing Labor Intensity

Post by scott »

In another thread I mentioned my continual efforts to reduce my labor intensity. I do not want to work harder. It's related to working smarter - but more than that.

It is understanding the work you do that provides you (and your client) with value. My best (and most time-profitable) example:

When I started as an insurance consultant I would review a client's insurance program and prepare a report that was sometimes 60 pages long. I soon realized that it was the 5 pages describing the problems identified that the client was interested in. The prior 55 pages was nice, but not valuable to the client.

I stopped providing the first 55 pages and nobody complained. In fact, my clients started telling me that they were glad I didn't prepare a "big, long report that they had to read."

My clients want meat and that's what I provide. Think of the time savings!

I am constantly working to reduce my time investment in projects and tasks. Most people live in a state of time-poverty. I can not create more hours. I can use the hours to provide me with more value.
Scott Simmonds, CPCU, ARM
Insurance Consultant
pita3333
Insurance Journal Addict

Re: Decreasing Labor Intensity

Post by pita3333 »

I completely agree with you on this one Scott. Key is to focus on what you do best, what your clients need from you and push out the rest!