Cold on Calling

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

P&C I Agent of IL
Insurance Journal Enthusiast

Cold on Calling

Post by P&C I Agent of IL »

As a new agent I am finding it incredibly difficult to keep motivated on the phone; hang ups, rude comments, run-a-rounds, etc. There has got to be a better way. I am looking for a more effective phone script/guide or more effective way in general to get new leads. I would appreciate seeing the scripts/guides or basic conversation flow that have proven to be most successful for you. Also what is a "good" conversion % for calls to appointments?
d's insurance store
Insurance Journal Addict

Re: Cold on Calling

Post by d's insurance store »

Sadly, you're not going to be getting a lot of sympathy for that method of client acquisition around here. Read up on a bunch of Scott's advisory postings.

If you're new to the biz, and your training mentor is telling you that's the way to get started, then you'd better run to another, more enlightened trainer because you're on the path to cold call burn out and career stagnation.

Think about it for a moment...just how motivated are you to respond positively to a cold telephone solicitor? You're being interrupted, intruded upon, asked to focus on a topic that isn't on the top of your mind and asked to give information. Sure, anyone who has done it can point to isolated successes...and that's just luck...finding someone out of the blue who's tuned into insurance shopping at the exact moment you're calling them, but it's the exception rather than the rule.

You'd be best served by first making a decision about what area of insurance you want to be involved in, and then trying to figure out how to be the expert in that field, and know what your product strengths are, and then learning and having the time and patience to building relationships, rather than x-dates.