Help with a Niche

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

Halpert
Insurance Journal Addict

Help with a Niche

Post by Halpert »

I'm a newer producer in a large commercial agency. I think the best approach to being successful in this business is to establish myself as an expert in a niche. Having said that, I don't know what niche I should be targeting. I would like to stay away from construction and manufacturing as there is severe competition there. Any suggestions? My accounts have to generate at least $5,000 in commission and I'm not sure what other classes to target.

Thanks.
Big Dog
Insurance Journal Addict

Re: Help with a Niche

Post by Big Dog »

A lot depends upon the area you live in. What industries are predominant in that area? As an example, Houston (where I live) has two major industries - oil/gas/energy, and healthcare. Each of these are highly specialized, and a "good" producer will need to know the intricacies of the coverage requirements.

For example, I work for a large healthcare provider (i.e. hospital). From a property standpoint, we're classified as a HPR (highly protected risk) client, with multiple locations and huge property values. An agent "claiming" to be an expert had better know what markets have the broadest primary coverage, and they'd also better know how to properly put together a layered program. Many say the do, but few can actually deliver. Same goes for the Professional Liability coverages. A broker had better be a real expert in this area.

Pick two or three industries that you actually KNOW what their needs are and what the basic exposures are. Then find out who the best markets are for them that your agency represents, and contact them for information on how to best market to these industries.
jimmyr1978
Insurance Journal Addict

Post by jimmyr1978 »