Ca Broker Fee

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

Ken
Insurance Journal Fan

Ca Broker Fee

Post by Ken »

Hi -
I'm looking for opinions on fair Broker fees to charge.
I'm an Independent Broker in California doing mostly Commercial P&C, but occasionally touching on Personal Lines. Over the last few years, I've chosen not to charge Broker Fees. Currently, i'm re-thinking that strategy because it takes a lot more work (and money) for a Broker to shop 10 carriers than my captive counterparts shopping 1.
Some of my colleagues charge a flat 10% on everything, others charge $100 - $350. I recognize that the fee should reflect the premium (Not charge $300 broker fee on a $500 premium), and that some of my appointments don't allow them at all.
Any feedback from the community would be great. :)

Thanks in advance for your time.
~Surfer Ken~
~Surfer Ken~
(Independent Broker)
meytai
Insurance Journal Addict

Re: Ca Broker Fee

Post by meytai »

Ken

Charge what you feel is appropriate

:D
Ken
Insurance Journal Fan

Post by Ken »

ya, it appears to be fairly subjective.
Thanks!
~Surfer Ken~
(Independent Broker)
mccluney
Insurance Journal Addict

Post by mccluney »

Wow. In CA if you are acting as an "agent", you may not charge a broker fee. If you are acting as a "broker" for personal lines there is an approved broker fee form that can be downloaded from the Department of Insurance website.

A broker fee form is required for personal lines, but not commercial.

In lieu of the flap over broker fees, agent associations had strongly advised using a broker fee form for commercial lines. Full disclosure to the client of fees charged may result in less regulation of insurance products and add creditabilty to the services we agent/brokers provide to our clients.
SME
Insurance Journal Fan

Post by SME »