New Insurance Agency Startup Questions

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

new2independent
Insurance Journal Addict

New Insurance Agency Startup Questions

Post by new2independent »

Good afternoon,

I am a young agent in the process of developing a business plan to start my own insurance industry. It will be based in Boston, MA and I will focus on personal lines insurance and some small BOP's. I currently do not plan on writing life insurance, although I am licensed to do so. I was wondering how to approach carriers for an appointment and also wanted to know if anyone has started a scratch agency? I have about 5 years of insurance experience. I was with Liberty Mutual for 4 years as a leading producer and have one year agency experience. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
d's insurance store
Insurance Journal Addict

Re: New Insurance Agency Startup Questions

Post by d's insurance store »

At the risk of sounding rude and abrupt, as stated in a number of postings like yours in the past, there is NO 3 ring binder or 'job in a box' formula for starting an independent insurance agency from scratch. In fact, as time sunsets on what was the retail insurance agency system, it has become exponentialy much harder to start from scratch and have any hope of success or survivorability. Think about it...you're here telling us you have a dream to start from scratch a personal lines and small BOP agency with a total of five years industry experience. The first question you need to ask is 'what are you going to do that is different from what is already being done in your proposed marketing area?', and the second question is 'why should people bust up their current insurance relationships and do business with me?'