NY Premium Finance Questions

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

AgencyHV
Insurance Journal Fan

NY Premium Finance Questions

Post by AgencyHV »

We are setting up a new insurance premium finance division at a bank in NY State and are looking to set up without the use of drafts being given to insurance brokers. Do any brokers feel that not providing drafts will limit our ability to write premium finance? As an insurance broker, I had always done business through the use of drafts provided by the premium finance company, that I would make payable to the insurance company. After seeing the huge amount of fraud out there via use of drafts we want to structure without (type premium finance fraud in the Insurance Journal search box.) Thanks in advance for any comments.
mclureins
Insurance Journal Addict

Re: NY Premium Finance Questions

Post by mclureins »

I HAVE OWNED A PREMIUM FINANCE COMPANY IN CALIFORNIA FOR 7 YEARS NOW AND I CAN HONESTLY SAY I THINK DRAFTS HAVE QUICKLY BECOME A THING OF THE PAST. I DID HOWEVER FIND A GREAT MANAGEMENT SYSTEM FOR PREMIUM FINANCING FROM ADVANCED INSURANCE SYSTEMS. THE ONLY BENEFIT OF USING DRAFTS FOR ME WAS GETTING THE MONEY TO THE G.A OR CARRIER QUICKER. BUT THE AMOUNT OF MONEY I SPENT ON COLLECTIONS AND LAWYERS AND DEALING WITH DISTRICT ATTORNEYS? NOT WORTH IT. OUR COMPANY STILL FINANCES WELL ABOVE WHERE WERE WHEN WE DID USE DRAFTS. ITS ALL ABOUT CUSTOMER SERVICE, PAYMENT CONVENIENCE AND BEING EFFICIENT. GIVING YOUR AGENTS A GOOD INCENTIVE ON COMMISSION ALWAYS GO NICELY TOO. LAST TIME WE USED DRAFTS WAS IN 2008 AND WE HAD ALMOST $87,000 IN WRITE OFFS OF FRAUD. NOT COUNTING ALL THE EXPENSES WE HAD TO PUT UP AS WELL. AND THAT WAS AGAINST 3.6 MILLION IN CIRCULATED FUNDING. PREMIUM FINANCING IS ALREADY A RISKTAKER IN ITSELF. I SAY LEAVE IT OUT AND SAVE THE HEADACHE.

GOOD LUCK TO YOU!
AgencyHV
Insurance Journal Fan

Post by AgencyHV »