Selling life insurance with no experience

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

dev1nsan
Insurance Journal Addict

Selling life insurance with no experience

Post by dev1nsan »

I recently passed the life and health exam and I'm not sure which direction to go. I've been running a P&C agency for about 6 years now, we mostly sell non-standard auto insurance. I want to start selling life insurance but I'm not sure if should go with a wholesale broker or a captive company (specifically New York Life). I would probably choose the broker as I like having the freedom to choose what products I want to push and just the whole being independent side of things but since I don't have any experience maybe it would be a better idea to start at NYL and get thorough training and learn all the products of one company to fully understand what I'm selling.

Any advice is appreciated.
d's insurance store
Insurance Journal Addict

Re: Selling life insurance with no experience

Post by d's insurance store »

You're about to embark on a insurance journey that many others have taken, most have failed at, and a few rise to the top with perserverence and patience to carve out a decent career.

Know in advance what the obsticles are...that you're selling a product that very few prospects want to talk about or buy, and that once you've plowed through lots and lots of blind contacts to get to a prospect that will have a conversation with you, you're still a long ways away from a commission check. Pure, plain and simple, selling life and financial products is a numbers game, and if you take every rejection personally, you'll go coo-koo very quickly. Unlike the personal lines side of the business, where prospects HAVE to legally have your offerings, Life and Financial products are purely optional.