How can a new agent obtain appointments?

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

MarinerFan707
Insurance Journal Fan

How can a new agent obtain appointments?

Post by MarinerFan707 »

I am a new agent in Californiaq currently working through the Farmer's reserve agent program. I know all about people's experiences with Farmers and i really have no intention of staying with them. My question is this...should i decide to wrap up my training with Farmers, what is the easiest way to go about obtaining insurer appointments? Any suggestions / opinions are definitely appreciated.
bh1950
Insurance Journal Fan

Re: How can a new agent obtain appointments?

Post by bh1950 »

Hello Fan:
Just a little background here. I have been in this business for 40 years and I respect your decision to not be a captive. I have oqned two agencies of my own and the Independent way is the onloy way to fly. When your a captive your hands are tied and there is always a hand in your pocket.

The first thing you want to make sure you have is a good business plan that depicts a good marketing strategy. When you start to talk to markets they will want assurance that you have a plan anjd a strategy in place. Many companies make it difficult for startups but I have found with a good plan and solid strategy many companies will talk with you and open up so to speak. if you shotgun the market place with no Written plan you will be lost. Highlight your experience and where you want to be in 5 years.

Non-Standard auto markets are not too hard to secure and this will give you a starting point. As you build a book and a track record you build credibility with other markets. Many times you will need to turn to an agregator such as Superior Access to get the markets, build the book and then secure your own markets.