Looking for an opinion

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

Mannyace
Insurance Journal Enthusiast

Looking for an opinion

Post by Mannyace »

I am currently a captive agent and want to go Independent next year. I am little by little building an agency and specialized in a Commercial where I have selected my market in a very careful manner. Lot of people ask for personal lines products. I know that personal lines is a time consuming and requires a lot of services but it also brings monthly income which can be used for overhead expenses. Since I am handling that office in a part time basis and have some people working there, I was wondering if anyone of you would have any advise on this subject or an indication as to what would be the best way on handling it.

Thanks for any positive advise.

Mancy
d's insurance store
Insurance Journal Addict

Re: Looking for an opinion

Post by d's insurance store »

Just about the best business advice ever given to me 40 years ago when I had a small sandwich shop and resisted selling certain items that I deemed to be 'wrong' or 'unprofitable', someone observing me called me over and said 'you're a jerk...you need to sell what people want to buy'.

I will offer the same advice to you, minus the part about being a jerk. If you have people asking for an insurance product and you can make money doing it, then I suggest you figure out a way to get some personal lines appointments on your 'side' business and start selling.

You're already working the system by remaining a captive agent while starting to work your own independent operation...just work the system more throughly.

Good luck.
FFA
Insurance Journal Addict

Post by FFA »

D makes a good point. Someone wants to write you a check, find someone to take it - Commercial or Personal lines.