Transition Into Commercial Insurance

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

InsuranceMaster
Insurance Journal Enthusiast

Post by InsuranceMaster »

I have a couple years' experience in personal lines and would like to transition into commercial insurance. What's the best position to start in at a commercial insurance firm to really learn the business? Eventually I'd like to become a broker or move up into senior management.

Thanks in advance for any advice!
dbriseno
Insurance Journal Fan

Post by dbriseno »

I'm in my sixth month in Commercial Insurance, having moved up from Personal Insurance. I recommend you do what I did, find the best, most professional P&C agency in your area and go to work for them in their Small Commercial department.

If you can do Personal Lines along with the Small Commercial, that would be ideal. You want to make sure to maintain your current revenue.

This time next year, you'll be a lot closer to that "broker" position.

One last piece of advice, activity breeds activity. After making your change, make sure and stay overly active...
pita3333
Insurance Journal Addict

Post by pita3333 »

I would suggest finding a position as an assistant to a competent Account Manager with a quality agency. In this position you would be able to lean the commercial side of the business from the placement and serving angles. However note that above I used "competent" "quality"...you are only as good as your trainers. I myself had the wonderful benefit of being trained by two very qualified persons.

To find these types of agencies I would suggest asking others you know in our industry or even asking for referrals from insurance carrier staff.

Good luck.
Michael Trouillon
Greater Los Angeles area

Consultant/Trainer agency automation system

Industry since 82

Past: Compliance Mgr master pol pgm, Ops Mgr, Marketing Mgr, Account Mgr
rhare
Insurance Journal Enthusiast

Post by rhare »