Start up Agency Advice

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

gregm21
Insurance Journal Fan

Start up Agency Advice

Post by gregm21 »

I currently own a driving school where I have about 10,000-15,000 students coming through per year and looking into the option of opening up an independent agency in our current location so that I can take advantage of some great cross selling opportunities. I have researched the laws in my state and there aren't any regulations against this. I have 1 year of successful production in P&C with an Allstate office, and concurrently servicing existing policies. I also have 2 years of financial advising experience. I have plenty of unused office space in my current location, so I would have no rent expenses. I also have a lot of business connections that could work well for selling commercial policies, which I have little experience selling. I would plan on hiring an experienced commercial/auto producer.

1. Is it unrealistic to think that an Alliance/Group/Wholesaler would take on this type of risk?

2. In my past experience we wrote mostly preferred clients, would it be an issue to be writing large volumes of high risk auto policies.

3. Would it make more sense to try and find an area independent agent to work underneath?

4. Any comments/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Greg
AgencyEquity
Insurance Journal Addict

Re: Start up Agency Advice

Post by AgencyEquity »

Who is your driving school market, are they 16 year olds?
http://www.agencyequity.com
The Premier Website for Insurance Agency Principals, Executives, and Producers with Executive-Level Business Needs
gregm21
Insurance Journal Fan

Post by gregm21 »

Of the total students coming through the school I would estimate:
Approx 85% would be new drivers
- 75% 16 yrs old
- 20% 18-21 yrd old
- 5% 21+
Approx 15% would be drivers that are attending driving improvement courses, due to accidents/tickets/etc...
justthere