CPA looking for career advice.

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

gobearcats
Insurance Journal Fan

CPA looking for career advice.

Post by gobearcats »

I am currently a management accountant and recently minted CPA working for a large, national P&C carrier. My career goals include working as a comptroller/CFO for a smaller, more regional carrier someday. I was looking into obtaining the CPCU designation or a Masters in Finance (I don't think I have the time to do both). If I went the masters route, it would not be from a top 50 biz school, and I just don't know if it is worth it since I already have my CPA. The CPCU Is much more industry specific, but I know it is more geared for producers.

Does anyone here have any suggestions? I have been working for my current company for six years and they pay for all higher Ed expenses so cost is not an issue.

Thanks.
bjwestner
Insurance Journal Addict

Re: CPA looking for career advice.

Post by bjwestner »

You are incorrect. While producers make up a large percentage of those that have the CPCU designation, actually more people in claims and underwriting are CPCU's versus producers based on information on the Institutes website.

I just finished my CPCU earlier this year and highly recommend it.
NYagent301
Insurance Journal Addict

Post by NYagent301 »

My career goals include working as a comptroller/CFO for a smaller, more regional carrier someday.
I would recommend CPCU if you are looking to stay within this industry, and given the goal of working at a smaller insurance company. Otherwise, I would recommend pursuing a Masters
paulbennings
Insurance Journal Addict

Post by paulbennings »

Normally, I would agree. I had the same dilemma and went with the CPCU after getting advice on these boards and from various people I know in the industry. However, since you are working the finance side and not UW or sales or claims, it might make sense to get the Masters: