Just another day in the retail insurance biz

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

d's insurance store
Insurance Journal Addict

Just another day in the retail insurance biz

Post by d's insurance store »

This is worthy of a post only because I was on the IJ site when my agency receives an unannouned walk-in looking for a quote just moments ago.

He's welcomed to sit down and wants a quote for a pick up truck that's sitting outside with some landscape material in the truck bed. I ask about current insurance and he says it's with AARP/Hartford. I ask what he does for a living and he says he just 'retired' from the landscape biz. I ask if he's still working part time and he gets a sheepish look on his face and says, yeah, he's probably working 30 hours a month.

I then ask if he's got a policy for artisan/business use or did he just tell AARP he's retired, and the answers was he told them he's retired. I came back with telling him I would need to rate for the use, even if it's part time, because if he files a claim while performing work duties, the insurance company is going to be pissed off.

He looks at me and smiles and says 'I guess I just picked the wrong guy to get a quote from this morning', turns and walks out.

As a regular forum member uses as their tag line...'just another day on the road to utopia'...
Kay-WA
Insurance Journal Fan

Re: Just another day in the retail insurance biz

Post by Kay-WA »

Good one. Thanks for sharing.
Wanyang
Insurance Journal Fan

Post by Wanyang »

it seems to me everyone is trying to cheat the system, I think you did the right thing asking him detail questions and offering him artisan/business use. Not worth losing your appointments.
William Graham
Insurance Journal Addict

Post by William Graham »

D -- I bet you probably saved yourself & your carriers a boat load of claims by asking the right questions over the years.
NYagent301
Insurance Journal Addict

Post by NYagent301 »