Moving from one insurance affiliate to another?

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

indpagent2
Insurance Journal Fan

Moving from one insurance affiliate to another?

Post by indpagent2 »

Hey guys I was hoping for a little insight/advice/direction regarding my situation.

I am an insurance agent working as an independent contractor for an agency. This agency (B) is an affiliate of a much larger independent agency (A) in CA. My contract is with agency B.

It has come to my attention that it may be best to leave my current agency and join a new agency which will also be an affiliate of agency A.

I'm concerned about the non-compete agreement in my contract as I cannot afford to start all over. I keep hearing that non competes are not upheld in California if you are not an actual employee. I have no intention of going after business that I did not write, but I would like to retain the book I've worked so hard to build.

Any info you guys might be able to share on the topic would be great. I hope to have a lawyer look over my contract soon. Thank you.
Big Dog
Insurance Journal Addict

Re: Moving from one insurance affiliate to another?

Post by Big Dog »

FWIW, non-compete agreement in California usually don't hold a lot of water.

Since your current and potentially future agency are all affiliates of a larger agency, there shouldn't be an issue in making a switch. However it should be the responsibility of the new potential agency to get this answer first.

Additionally, you may want to have legal counsel look at that non-compete agreement to get their opinion. As I noted originally, non-compete agreements in California usually don't stand up in court. However, there are agency principals that can be real a-holes in trying to enforce it, and make your life miserable.
d's insurance store
Insurance Journal Addict

Post by d's insurance store »