Understanding Auto Repair coverage

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

P&C I Agent of IL
Insurance Journal Enthusiast

Understanding Auto Repair coverage

Post by P&C I Agent of IL »

I am a new agent with limited knowledge and experiance in general (I passed the test and this is my second week). I was told by the Agency Principal to find and focus on a niche- based on my prior background I have selected Auto Repair shops- I have spent the last 10 years in auto repair and 3 of those were running the shop I was at. I figured this type of experience should help me get in and talk with them though no one in my office ever even quoted an auto shop. Therefore I am looking to understand whats the difference between garagekeers and garagekeepers legal liability as well as equipment breakdown and how it applies to an auto shop in addition to other types of coverage unique to this niche. I appreciate any help you can offer.
pita3333
Insurance Journal Addict

Re: Understanding Auto Repair coverage

Post by pita3333 »

Welcome to the industry!

I think what your principal meant to say was "garage liability" vrs "garage keepers legal liab" and he should have added "garage keepers direct primary".

Briefly, Garage liability is the "premises" liability for a shop (slip fall etc) with some extension to the road for road testing of customers vehicles.

Garage keepers legal/direct primary is for the damage to a customers vehicle while in care custody control of the shop. Legal liabilty means just what it says - only covers what the shop is legally liabile for. While Direct primary is broader (and more expensive) since it does not require the strict legal liability.