Colorado Gov. Bill Owens has signed a bill prohibiting insurers from refusing to issue a fire insurance policy within a federally designated disaster area due to wildfire. Senate Bill 7 became effective immediately. National Association of Independent Insurers (NAII) Northwest Regional Manager Michael Harrold said insurers worked with legislators in a recent special session to keep the bill from adversely affecting most Colorado residents, although the new law still imposes some restrictions that many insurers find burdensome. SB 7 prohibits insurers from refusing to insure property in a federally designated disaster area based on zip code, county or distance from a wildfire. All other underwriting criteria are permitted. The prohibition will not apply to property within an immediately threatened area as designated by the appropriate state, local or federal official.