Professional Insurance Agents of Ohio Announce 2006 Award Winners

The Professional Insurance Agents Association of Ohio, Inc. (PIA) presented awards this week to several of its members. The awards were announced at the 2006 PIA Agency Management and Profitability Conference.

PIA of Ohio hosts the annual conference for insurance agents, company representatives and other members of the insurance industry. The yearly event offers premier education courses and opportunities to build business relationships and network. The 2006 conference was held at Columbus Marriott Northwest in Dublin.

Terry A. Kelso, CPCU, CPIA, of Westerville, received PIA of Ohio’s Excellence in Leadership award for his volunteerism for the association. PIA of Ohio named Kelso Chairperson of the Year in 2003 and Industry Person of the Year in 2005. Kelso currently serves on PIA of Ohio’s board of directors, Ohio executive committee, company relations committee and insurance company satisfaction index task force. Kelso is president of Associated Insurance Agencies Inc. in Westerville.

Mark T. Reilly, CPCU, CIC, CRM, of Elmore, was named PIA of Ohio’s Jack V. Hedges Educator of the Year. Reilly has been an instructor and active member of PIA’s education committee since 1990. He was president of PIA of Ohio in 2004 and is currently chairman of the education committee and staff development task force. His previous awards include PIA Chairman of the Year and PIA Volunteer of the Year. Reilly is president of Diversified Insurance Service, LLC in Elmore.

Daniel T. Rabold, of Worthington, received the Chairman of the Year award. Rabold is serving his second year as chair of PIA of Ohio’s company satisfaction survey task force, and is a member of the company relations committee and the Grange agency agreement working group. Rabold is president of Thompson-Cunningham Agency, Inc. in Worthington. He is a graduate of Columbus Technical Institute.

James J. Kennedy, CPCU, CIC, LUTCF, of Marion, was named Industry Person of the Year. Kennedy has worked in the insurance industry for 33 years. He has served on the board of trustees for the Griffith Foundation for Insurance Education and the Ohio Insurance Institute. Kennedy is president and chief executive officer of Ohio Mutual Insurance Group in Bucyrus, Ohio.

Lisa M. Gabel, of Twinsburg, was named Outstanding Customer Service Representative (CSR) of the Year for 2006 by The National Alliance for Insurance Education and Research. To qualify for this award, insurance CSR’s wrote essays on the topic, “Three Great Ways for a CSR to Build Positive Relationships with Company Underwriters.” Gabel’s essay earned her the statewide honor and will qualify her to compete with winners from other states for the national award.

The Professional Insurance Agents Association of Ohio identifies itself as the largest independent agents’ organization in the state. It represents approximately 1,300 independent insurance agencies, their employees and their customers.

Source: Professional Insurance Agents Association of Ohio