Vanek Elected President of Texas Fire and Casualty Association

Greg Vanek of Waco was elected president of the Association of Fire and Casualty Companies in Texas (AFACT) for the 2008-2009 term. Vanek is president and chief executive officer of National Lloyds and American Summit Insurance Companies, known as NLASCO.

Craig Sparks, president of Union Standard Insurance Company in Dallas, was elected vice-president. Lyndell Haigood, regional vice-president of State Auto Insurance Company in Wichita Falls, was elected secretary/treasurer.

Other newly elected officers: Gina Boone, assistant vice-president and associate counsel at Republic Insurance Group in Dallas, will serve as director at large, and past president Dianne Morris, president of Association Casualty Insurance Company, will serve as a director.

Alton Thomas, a retired insurance company executive, will continue in the position of AFACT executive manager.

AFACT is a trade organization representing Texas property and casualty insurance companies. It was founded in 1941 to broaden consumer knowledge of insurance and support legislation to improve the insurance business.

Source: AFACT,