Alaska Disaster Declaration Now Covers Interior Flooding

A disaster declaration has been expanded to include three regions of Interior Alaska impacted by flooding in late September.

The Fairbanks Daily News-Miner reported Gov. Sean Parnell has expanded an earlier declaration for Southcentral Alaska to include the Denali Borough and the Yukon-Koyukuk and Copper River Basin school districts.

The declaration allows the state to offer assistance to people in the areas affected by a series of storms from Sept. 15 to 30. State, federal and local officials also are assessing damage to see whether the state should ask for federal assistance.