Underwriting

Your response to industry hot topics.

Moderators: Josh, independent guy

alsaxon
Insurance Journal Enthusiast

Post by alsaxon »

Hi All,

Is it possible to break into underwriting from the brokerage side. To me it seems that if an underwriter wants to broaden their horizons and experience the broker side it works out perfectly fine. An underwriter can be hired as as an Account Manager or even an Account Executive. However, it seems to be the opposite for someone on the brokerage side. How can a person with only agency experience move into underwriting without losing too much income. Is it possible, or should I just give up on that one. Here is my resume: Straight out of college I worked two years as an P&C Underwriter, Moved to the brokerage side and worked one year as an Technical Assistant, and now I am a Junior Account Manager (which is an transitioning phase to an full fledged Account Manager).

Is it at all possible to break into underwriting? Any advise? Better yet, what steps can I take.? Maybe obtaining the CPCU will help.
Dawgnacious

Post by Dawgnacious »

JMHO, but why in the world would anyone consider a career move like what you have just described?

I will admit that I have witnessed several people move from the broker/agency side back over or into the underwriting side of the business. With few exceptions, they almost always ended up being very effective u/w's. The experience they gained on the broker/agent side proved invaluable.

How they do it? Usually it was having personal relationships with the people/underwriters already working at the specific insurance company they ultimately went to work for. It starts as a simply inquiry or discussion over lunch and before you know it, they are involved in the interview process.

Again, I would never recommend leaving the agent/broker side, but that is just me.
alsaxon

Post by alsaxon »

Dawgnacious,