To help protect consumers against fraud, all West Virginia home inspectors will have to be certified by the State Fire Commission.
The new law went into effect August 1.
Under the new state law passed in April, all inspectors will have to pass the National Home Inspection Exam to gain certification. The new requirements also call for 16 hours of continuing education a year and liability insurance coverage of at least $250,000.
The law also sets a minimum list of items each inspection must cover, including the foundation and structure of the house, electrical system, plumbing, roof and eaves, chimney and fireplace, heating and cooling system and more.
Michael Reel, vice president of the West Virginia Association of Home Inspectors and author of the new law, said the public too often wrongly assumes that anyone with a business license has proper credentials.
The new law should give consumers better tools to guard against fraud, he said.
The state law follows the guidelines of the American Society of Home Inspectors and the National Association of Home Inspectors.
Topics Legislation Virginia
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.
Learjet May Have Broken Up Before Fatal Florida Crash, NTSB Says
WSJ Wins Dismissal of Trump’s $10 Billion Defamation Suit
King Tides Inundate Streets and Flood Homes and Businesses on Both US Coasts
US Court Reinstates ‘Sunday Ticket’ Class Action Verdict Against NFL 

