McCann to Succeed Plumeri as Willis Chairman; Director Candidates Listed

April 26, 2013

Willis Group Holdings announced that, at its regular meeting this week, the Board of Directors determined that the following individuals will be nominated for election as directors at the 2013 Annual General Meeting of Shareholders: Dominic J. Casserley, Anna C. Catalano, Sir Roy Gardner, Sir Jeremy Hanley, Robyn S. Kravit, Wendy E. Lane, James F. McCann, Douglas B. Roberts, Michael J. Somers, and Jeffrey W. Ubben.

The company also announced that the Board has appointed Jim McCann to be non-executive Chairman of the Board, effective July 8, 2013, succeeding Joe Plumeri upon his retirement from the Board. McCann has served on the Willis board since 2004 and as the Presiding Independent Director since October 2012.

The bulletin also indicated that the Board is nominating Jeffrey W. Ubben for the first time for election as a director of the company. He is the CEO, chief investment officer, and a founder of ValueAct Capital, a San Francisco-based investment firm. “ValueAct Capital is one of Willis Group’s largest shareholders. ValueAct currently owns approximately 9.5 percent of the company’s outstanding shares and has been a Willis shareholder since 2009,” said the announcement.

In addition Willis noted that “Joseph A. Califano, Jr. and Jeffrey B. Lane, who have served on the Board since 2004 and 2008, respectively, have informed the Board that they will not be standing for reelection at the 2013 Annual General Meeting. The Nominating and Governance Committee of the Board has been actively evaluating candidates to complete the slate and expects to shortly recommend two additional director candidates for election as directors at the 2013 Annual General Meeting.”

McCann said: “I’m grateful for my fellow Board members’ confidence and thank Joe Plumeri for his 12 years of extraordinary leadership of our firm. I am confident that Dominic and his team and every Willis associate around the world will take Willis to the next level in the years ahead by providing our clients with outstanding service.

“On behalf of the Board and the entire company, I would like to thank Joe Califano and Jeff Lane for their many years of service on the Willis Board. They each have made invaluable contributions over the years and have helped guide the company to where it is today,” he added.

Dominic Casserley, Willis’s CEO and member of the Board, welcomed McCann as the new Chairman of Willis, succeeding Plumeri., whom he described as having led the company “with extraordinary distinction.”

Source: Willis Group Holdings plc

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.