Mississippi Lawmakers Move to Tighten Law on Texting While Driving

February 18, 2014

Mississippi could tighten its law against sending text messages while driving.

The House passed House Bill 484 last Thursday. It would ban texting while driving for anyone 18 or younger. Current law bans it for any younger driver who has a learner’s permit or intermediate license.

Senate Bill 2434 passed the Senate on Feb. 5. It says anyone caught sending a text message or checking a social media site while driving can be charged with careless driving. Conviction would carry a fine of anywhere from $5 to $50.

The two chambers will now exchange bills for more debate.

 

Subscribe Insurance news headlines delivered to your email.
Get a free subscription to our popular email newsletter.

Latest Comments

  • February 20, 2014 at 10:37 am
    wvagt says:
    The key word here is "caught." So far there's been little or no effort at enforcement, at least in this part of the world.
See all comments

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

More News
More News Features