Boston’s Insurance Professional of the Year Award to be Presented to David Lane, Agent and Representative

September 13, 2004

The Insurance Library Association of Boston will present its annual Insurance Professional of the Year Award to industry leader and public servant, David J. Lane, an owner and chairman of Hastings Tapley Insurance Agency, based in Woburn and now part of USI Holdings, and a former member of the Massachusetts House of Representtaives for 30 years.

Lane will receive the award on November, 2004, at a luncheon at the Four Seasons Hotel in Boston.

Upon graduation from Harvard College, Lane worked in New York City at the National Bureau of Casualty Underwriters (predecessor of ISO’s casualty operation). In l957 he became an owner in the Tapley Insurance Agency of Boston and Danvers. After a merger with the Hastings Agency of Cambridge and Saugus he became chairman of the Hastings-Tapley Insurance Agency, which became one of the largest agencies in this region, having offices in several Massachusetts communities and in Connecticut, New York and Virginia. In recent years he has been chairman of NetCare Services, the risk management subsidiary of the agency.

In 2003 the agency was acquired by the national brokerage firm, USI Holdings, and Lane continues in his role with the subsidiary.

Early in his career, he earned Chartered Property and Casualty Underwriter(CPCU) and Associate in Risk Management(ARM) designations and an Insurance Advisers LIcense, and taught CPCU courses. Later he was president of the Boston Chapter, CPCU; president of the Massachusetts Association of Insurance Agents; a director of the national Council of Insurance Agents and Brokers; and member and chairman of the Governing Committee, Commonwealth Automobile Reinsurers.

Lane has been involved in public service as an elected official for over 30 years. He was a member of the Massachusetts House of Representatives in the l970’s, representing Essex, Gloucester, Ipswich and for one term, Hamilton, and for the rest of the time, Rowley. He also has been Essex Town Moderator for more than 20 years. His legislative achievements include: co-author of the first-in-nation Massachusetts No-Fault Auto Insurance Law (1970); sponsor of the Massachusetts Automobile Reinsurance Facility Law (1973); co-sponsor of Full Time District Attorney Law (1975); co-sponsor of the “Lane-Bolling” law prohibiting auto reinsurance facility surcharges for “clean risks” (1977); co-sponsor of Property Tax Classification Constitutional Amendment (1978); author of Local Boat Excise Tax Law (1978); and co-sponsor of Meal Tax Reduction (1978).

Continuing to be active in industry institutions, Lane is a director of the Massachusetts Property Insurance Underwriting Association, and chairman of Commonwealth Automobile Reinsurers Commercial Auto Committee.

He is still committed to community involvement, serving as pice President and Director of Oak Hill, Inc. of Ipswich, Mass. (a nonprofit affordable housing group); a trustee of City on a Hill Charter School, Boston; and a member of the Cape Ann Chamber of Commerce.

Topics Agencies Reinsurance Massachusetts

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.