Pursell, New Officers of Independent Agents of Conn. Take Over

September 1, 2005

The new officers and executive committee members of the Independent Insurance Agents of Connecticut begin their 2005-2006 term on Sept. 1.

Mary Pursell will serve as the IIAC president and is the first woman president in the 107 year history of IIAC. Pursell is the president of Abbate Insurance Associates, Inc. a multi-line agency based in New Haven. Prior to her becoming a principal of the agency in 1998, she served as vice president.

Pursell has held numerous leadership positions in both professional and civic organizations including president of the Chartered Property Casualty Underwriters, Southern Connecticut Chapter, and past president of New Haven Insurance Agents. She has served as a director of the Hamden Chamber of Commerce and maintains membership in the Greater New Haven Chamber of Commerce, New Haven Insurance Women, New Haven Board of Realtors, and the New Haven Rotary Club.

The officers and executive committee members that will serve their term with president Pursell are: President-Elect, Jay Byrnes III, Byrnes Agency, Inc., Dayville; Treasurer, Craig Dawley, Pinnacle Group, Inc., East Hartford; Secretary, Bill Pierz, CIC, Shoff Darby Companies, Inc., Norwalk; State National Director, Daniel Clock, F. North Clark Insurance Agency, Litchfield; and Chairman of The Board, Spencer Houldin; Ericson Insurance Services, Washington Depot. In addition to the officers of IIAC the following individuals will serve on the IIAC Executive Committee: Kurt Battey, The Scholes Agency, Inc., Essex; Tom Wilson, The Wilson Agency Inc., Shelton; and Michael Gergler, CIC, Wilcox & Reynolds Insurance, LLC, Storrs.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.