NAII Board of Governors Elect GEICO’s Nicely Chairman

November 8, 2001

Tony Nicely, chairman, president and CEO of GEICO, was elected chairman of the National Association of Independent Insurers board of governors on Nov. 7 during the association’s annual meeting in New Orleans.

Nicely began his career with GEICO in 1961 and has held numerous positions, including senior vice president in 1985, executive vice president in 1987 and president in 1989. He was named chairman of GEICO and president and CEO of insurance operations for GEICO Corporation in 1993.

In addition to serving on NAII’s board of governors, Nicely serves on the boards of the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, the Insurance Information Institute, the American Institute for Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter, The Presidential Classroom and the George Mason University Foundation. He is a member of the Federal City Council and the Board of Consultants for Riggs National Bank, and is past president of the board of Metropolitan Washington U.S.O.

On the same day, the NAII also elected other new officers and 10 new executives to its Board of Governors. William Pollard, executive vice president and general manager of North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company, was elected first vice chair. Pollard joined North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual in 1969 and has served as executive vice president and general manager since 1989. In addition to being a member of the NAII’s Board of Governors, he has represented his company on many committees and organizations, including the North Carolina Rate Bureau.

Herm Arends, chairman and CEO of Auto-Owners Group, was elected second vice chair. Arends joined Auto-Owners in 1972 and has served in that capacity since 1997. He serves on numerous boards, including Lake Country Corporation, Capital Area Health Alliance and the Michigan National Bank.

The following 10 executives were selected to serve three-year terms of the Board of Governors: Byron Boslau, chairman, president and CEO of Farmers Mutual Insurance Company of Nebraska; Hulet Chaney, CEO of Tennessee Farmers Insurance Companies; Andrew Frazier, president and CEO of Western World Insurance Company; John Lenox, director of Shelter Insurance Companies; Bruce Marlow, president and CEO of 21st Century Insurance Company; Steve Monahan, president and COO of Auto Club Insurance Association; Robert Moone, chairman, president and CEO of State Auto Insurance Companies; Roger Simpson, executive vice president of Kentucky Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company; Philip Urban, president and CEO of Grange Mutual Casualty Company; and Jaxon White, president and CEO of MEDMARC Insurance group.

Topics Carriers Agribusiness North Carolina Berkshire Hathaway

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.