Regulators Name 2007 Key Committee Chairs

January 26, 2007

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) today named its 2007 Committee chairs and vice chairs. The NAIC officers, most immediate past president and zone representatives met earlier this month to make assignments based on the preferences submitted by the members and the requirements established by the association’s bylaws. Committee assignments are for one year.

“This year’s Committee structure mirrors the NAIC’s impressive blend of seasoned veterans and fresh perspectives within the regulatory community,” said Walter Bell, NAIC president and Alabama insurance commissioner. “We have a solid mix of past presidents, former NAIC leadership and approximately 163 years of combined experience in state insurance regulation.”

The 2007 NAIC Committee chair and vice chair assignments are as follows:

Life Insurance and Annuities (A) Committee: chair, Julie McPeak, executive director, Kentucky Office of Insurance, and vice chair, Tim Wagner, director, Nebraska Department of Insurance;

Health Insurance and Managed Care (B) Committee: chair, Joel Ario, administrator, Oregon Insurance Division, and vice chair, Kim Holland, commissioner, Oklahoma Insurance Department;

Property and Casualty Insurance (C) Committee: chair, Kevin McCarty, commissioner, Florida Office of Insurance Regulation, and
vice chair, Michael McRaith, director, Illinois Division of Insurance;

Market Regulation and Consumer Affairs (D) Committee: chair, Mike Kreidler, commissioner, Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner, and vice chair, Julie Benafield Bowman, commissioner, Arkansas Insurance Department;

Financial Condition (E) Committee: chair: Alfred Gross, commissioner, Virginia Bureau of Insurance, and vice chair, Susan Voss, commissioner, Iowa Division of Insurance;

Financial Regulation Standards and Accreditation (F) Committee:
chair, Joseph Torti III, superintendent, Rhode Island Insurance Division, and vice chair, Kent Michie, commissioner, Utah Department of Insurance;

International Insurance Relations (G) Committee: chair, Diane Koken, Commissioner, Pennsylvania Insurance Department, and vice chair, Dorelisse Juarbe Jiménez, commissioner, Puerto Rico Department of Insurance; and,

Information Resources Management (H) Committee: chair: Jim Long, commissioner, North Carolina Department of Insurance, and vice chair, Steven Orr, commissioner, Maryland Insurance Administration.

A complete listing of committee assignments can be found on the NAIC’s Web site at:

Source: National Assciation of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.