Surplus Lines Group Honors Haldeman, Leonard, Others in Industry

October 20, 2011

Hank Haldeman, executive vice president of The Sullivan Group and co-chair of the National Association of Professional Surplus Lines Offices (NAPSLO) legislative committee, was presented the Charles A. McAlear/NAPSLO Industry Award at the 2011 NAPSLO Annual Convention in San Diego this month.

Haldeman received the award from outgoing President Letha Heaton, vice president at Admiral Insurance Co., during the awards session of the program on October 12. The award was established by NAPSLO in the 1980s to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to the surplus lines industry and it was renamed in 1994 to recognize the association’s first president and founding member.

“Clearly, this is a reflection of the great importance that NAPSLO has placed upon the implementation of NRRA around the country, as we seek to realize the promise of uniformity while resolving the threat of unworkable allocation methods and competing tax sharing approaches,” Haldeman said. “The work is not complete here, but we hope to see a significant step forward as regulators, legislators and industry coalesce around the Kentucky compromise allocation method. This has been a team effort, with many, both within and outside NAPSLO contributing substantially.”

Haldeman has served as co-chair of NAPSLO’s legislative committee, legislative chair for the Surplus Lines Association of California and legislative chair and president of the California Insurance Wholesalers Association (CIWA).

In addition, David E. Leonard, president of RSUI Group Inc. and co-chair of the legislative committee, received the Richard M. Bouhan Legislative Advocacy Award, which is presented to individuals whose advocacy helps advance the legislative interests of the surplus lines industry. It was created in 2006 and recognized Bouhan’s legislative work on behalf of the surplus lines industry. Bouhan, who will be retiring next year, was also recognized during the program for his efforts for the association over the past 30 years, including serving as executive director from 1987 to 2011.

Leonard and Gilbert C. Hine Jr., president of McClelland and Hine Inc. and co-chair of NAPSLO’s Education Committee, received NAPSLO President’s Award, which recognizes committee chairs for outstanding service.

Jeff Lamb, of Markel and a member of NAPSLO’s Career Awareness and Internship Committee, received the W. Dana Roehrig (Past President’s) Award, which recognizes efforts of association volunteers.

Kristen Skender, of USG Insurance Services Inc. and president of NAPSLO’s Next Generation, was presented the initial Steven R. Gross Next Generation Award to recognize contributions to the association by members under age 40. Gross is co-chair of NAPSLO’s Career Awareness and Internship Committee and oversaw the formation of the Next Generation.

Source: NAPSLO

Topics Excess Surplus

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.