8 States to Hold Earthquake Drills Today

February 7, 2012

Eight states are expected to take part in an earthquake drill today that will be conducted throughout the central United States on the 200th anniversary of the 1812 New Madrid earthquakes.

The event is called the 2012 Great Central United States ShakeOut and includes Alabama, Arkansas, Kentucky, Illinois, Indiana, Missouri, Mississippi and Tennessee.

Those who register at www.ShakeOut.org/centralus will receive information on how to plan a drill and how to tell others about earthquake preparedness. Organizers ask that participants register and at the minimum practice “drop, cover and hold on” at 10:15 a.m. CST.

More than 3 million people overall registered for the 2011 Great Central US ShakeOut.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.