NAIC Names 15 Consumer Representatives

December 16, 2014

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) recently named 30 consumer liaison representatives for 2015. The 20 funded and 10 unfunded consumer representatives begin their terms Jan. 1, 2015. Eighteen of the funded consumer representatives participated in the program in 2014.

Established in 1992, the program promotes consumer interaction with the NAIC member state insurance regulators, the insurance industry and interested parties.

“This partnership program is an important component of our mission to protect the public interest and facilitate the fair and equitable treatment of insurance consumers,” said Monica J. Lindeen, NAIC president-elect and Montana insurance commissioner.

The following are the 2015 NAIC funded consumer liaison representatives, with the two new representatives noted with an asterisk:

Amy Bach: Executive Director, United Policyholders

Birny Birnbaum: Center for Economic Justice

Brendan M. Bridgeland: Director, Center for Insurance Research

Bonnie Burns: Training and Policy Specialist, California Health Advocate

Brenda J. Cude: Professor, University of Georgia

Kathleen Gmeiner: Project Director, UHCAN Ohio

Timothy Stoltzfus Jost: Professor, Washington and Lee University School of Law

Debra Judy: Policy Director, Colorado Consumer Health Initiative

Karrol Kitt: Associate Professor, University of Texas at Austin

Peter Kochenburger: Executive Director, Insurance Law Center, University of Connecticut School of Law

Sonja L. Larkin-Thorne: Consumer Advocate

Adam Linker: Health Policy Analyst, North Carolina Justice Center

Sarah Lueck: Health Policy Analyst, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

Annalise Mannix: Fair Insurance Rates in Monroe

Lincoln Nehring: Senior Health Policy Analyst, Voices for Utah Children

Jesse O’Brien: Oregon State Public Interest Research Group

Andrea Routh: Executive Director, Missouri Health Advocacy Alliance

JoAnn Volk: Senior Research Fellow; Georgetown University Health Policy Institute, Center on Health Insurance Reforms*

Jackson Williams: Director of Government Affairs, Dialysis Patient Citizens*

Cindy Zeldin: Executive Director, Georgians for a Healthy Future

In addition, the following are ten unfunded consumer representatives (seven returning from 2014 and three new, as noted with an asterisk):

Elizabeth Abbott: Director, State of California, Office of the Patient Advocate

Howard Goldblatt: Director of Government Affairs, Coalition Against Insurance Fraud

Marguerite Herman: Project Healthcare, Consumer Advocates

Anna Howard: Principal, Policy Development, Access to and Quality of Care, American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network*

Angelo Lello: Director Housing and Community Living, Autism Speaks*

Claire McAndrew: Private Insurance Program Director, Families USA*

Stephanie Mohl: Government Relations Manager, American Heart Association

Christina Postolowski: Senior Policy Analyst, Young Invincibles

Lynn Quincy: Senior Policy Analyst, Consumers Union

Alyssa Vangeli: Senior Health Policy Manager, Health Care for All

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.