NAIC Elects Missouri’s Huff President; Other 2016 Officers

November 24, 2015
State insurance regulators who are members of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) have elected 2016 officers, including Missouri Insurance Director John Huff as president.

Other officers elected are President-Elect: Kentucky Insurance Commissioner Sharon P. Clark; Vice President: Wisconsin Insurance Commissioner Ted Nickel; and Secretary-Treasurer: Tennessee Insurance Commissioner Julie Mix McPeak.

The newly-elected officers will assume their duties on Jan. 1, 2016.

Huff, an attorney, was appointed as director of the Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration by Gov. Jay Nixon on Feb. 6, 2009. Before entering public service, he spent 11 years as an executive with leading insurers and reinsurers, including Swiss Re and GE Insurance Solutions.

John M. Huff
John M. Huff

In September 2010, Huff was appointed to the U.S. Financial Stability Oversight Council by the NAIC. He served two terms on the council and was the initial state insurance regulator appointed. The council was created by the 2010 Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act.

Clark, a veteran of Kentucky state government, was appointed insurance commissioner in July 2008 and was reappointed to the post in July 2012. Clark was the first director of the insurance department’s Consumer Protection and Education Division, a position she held for five years.

Prior to being appointed insurance commissioner, Clark worked at the Finance and Administration Cabinet. She also held positions for the Kentucky House of Representatives, the Public Service Commission, and the former Workforce Development Cabinet.

Nickel was appointed by Gov. Scott Walker as Wisconsin insurance commissioner on Jan. 3, 2011. Prior to his appointment, Nickel worked for almost 18 years as director of governmental and regulatory affairs for Church Mutual Insurance Co. in Wisconsin.

He has been actively engaged in insurance industry affairs in Wisconsin and has served on the board of directors of the Wisconsin Insurance Alliance. Nickel also worked in the administration of former Wisconsin Gov. Tommy Thompson..

McPeak was appointed by Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam to lead the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance on January 12, 2011. McPeak is the first woman to serve as chief insurance regulator in more than one state. She brings to the department nearly 20 years of legal and administrative experience in state government.

Before being named commissioner, McPeak practiced as counsel to the insurance practice group of law firm Burr & Forman LLP. She also served as the executive director of the Kentucky Office of Insurance (KOI). Before her appointment as executive director, she spent nine years as an attorney for the KOI, the final five as general counsel. She also served as general counsel to the Kentucky Personnel Cabinet.

2016 Zone Officers Elected

NAIC members also elected 2016 zone officers during the Fall National Meeting.

Northeastern Zone

Susan L. Donegan – Chair, Vermont

Eric A. Cioppa – Vice Chair, Maine

Al Redmer, Jr. – Secretary, Maryland

Southeastern Zone

Jim L. Ridling – Chair, Alabama

Wayne Goodwin – Vice Chair, North Carolina

Mike Chaney – Secretary, Mississippi

Midwestern Zone

Bruce R. Ramge – Chair, Nebraska

Nick Gerhart – Vice Chair, Iowa

John D. Doak – Secretary, Oklahoma

Western Zone

Dave Jones – Chair, California

Laura N. Cali – Vice Chair, Oregon

David Mattax – Secretary, Texas

The NAIC is the U.S. standard-setting and regulatory support organization created and governed by the chief insurance regulators from the 50 states, the District of Columbia and five U.S. territories.

Topics USA Missouri Tennessee Wisconsin Kentucky

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.