NAIC Honors 3 for Leadership in State Insurance Regulation

December 7, 2017

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) recognized three state regulators for their contributions to state-based insurance regulation during the the NAIC’s 2017 Fall National Meeting.

The NAIC presented two state department regulators with the Robert Dineen Award for Outstanding Service and Contribution to the State Regulation of Insurance. The NAIC established the Award in 1989 in honor of the founder of the NAIC’s Support and Services Office.

This year’s Dineen Award recipients are Charles Angell, deputy commissioner and Casualty Actuary of the Alabama Department of Insurance, and Paula Pallozzi, associate director of the Rhode Island Insurance Division.

“These two regulators exemplify the best of us and the collective work we do to enhance state-based regulation,” said Ted Nickel, NAIC president and Wisconsin insurance commissioner. “Angell and Pallozi have taken leadership roles in our work in big data and data collection — work that ultimately protects consumers.”

Angell joined the Alabama Department of Insurance in 2008 as a casualty actuary and he was named deputy commissioner in September 2009. Since then, he has participated in 19 committees, task forces and working groups. Angell has served in an actuarial advisory role with the NAIC’s Property & Casualty Actuarial Credential/Qualification Study, an ad hoc group of the Executive Committee. Angell has also been an instrumental member of the NAIC’s Big Data Working Group.

Pallozzi joined the Rhode Island Insurance Division 35 years ago — serving as the chief Property & Casualty rate analyst from 1997 to 2013. She was promoted to associate director of the insurance division in 2014. Pallozzi is a member of the NAIC’s Property & Casualty Committee and has served as chair, vice chair or co-chair of working groups devoted to data collection and other catastrophe-related issues.

President’s Award

New Hampshire Insurance Commissioner Roger A. Sevigny was presented with the President’s Award for Distinguished NAIC Leadership. This award is given at the discretion of the NAIC President to honor an NAIC member who has shown exemplary leadership, a sustained length of service and contributed to advancing the NAIC’s mission.

“For 15 years, Commissioner Sevigny has provided dedicated service and leadership in advancing the mission of the NAIC,” Nickel said. “His hard work and contributions to state-based regulations are immeasurable, which is why he is most deserving of the President’s Award.”

Sevigny served as NAIC President in 2009.

Topics Legislation Property Casualty Leadership Casualty

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.