Insurance Council of Texas Honors Gentry with Raymond Mauk Award

July 17, 2014

Rick Gentry, former executive director for the Insurance Council of Texas (ICT), was presented the Raymond Mauk Leadership Award at the ICT’s Mid-Year Property and Casualty Symposium in Austin.

Gentry led the ICT for 17 years.

The Raymond Mauk Leadership Award is the ICT’s highest honor and is intended to bestow recognition on those whose labor has made a significant difference in the business of insurance.

Rick Gentry

Rick Gentry

Gentry was recognized for his leadership role in helping to merge two longtime Texas insurance organizations together to create ICT. Once ICT was established, Gentry began working to build a more cooperative approach within the insurance community. He helped to create and foster a stronger, ongoing relationship between ICT and the Independent Insurance Agents of Texas (IIAT) which remains evident today.

In 1967, Gentry served in the United States Army, where his first assignment took him to Vietnam. He was quickly promoted to infantry squad leader and was subsequently injured while on patrol and was awarded the Purple Heart.

In 1973, shortly after earning a degree in business from the University of Texas at Austin, Gentry was hired as a committee clerk for the Texas House of Representatives. This led to a number of jobs within Texas politics that included working for the Speaker of the House, the Texas Attorney General and Congressman Jake “J.J.” Pickle.

Out of politics and prior to ICT, Gentry headed the Austin office of the Insurance Information Institute (III), speaking on behalf of the industry during the era of Governor Ann Richards.

As Executive Director at ICT, Gentry led what became the largest state insurance trade organization in the country and the voice for the Texas insurance industry.

His vision led to the creation of ICT’s Education Foundation which has raised approximately $700,000 in scholarships and academic funding for more than 300 insurance and risk management students at nine Texas universities.

The Raymond Mauk Award is presented in honor of former Texas Fire Commissioner Raymond Mauk.

Source: The Insurance Council of Texas

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More News
More News Features