Insurance Council of Texas Scholarships Top $1 Million Mark

November 14, 2017

On November 15, the Insurance Council of Texas (ICT) Education Foundation will join the University of North Texas (UNT) in Denton to celebrate the Education Foundation’s surpassing $1 million dollars in scholarships and education funding given to support insurance education in Texas.

The Education Foundation will present scholarships to seven UNT insurance and risk management students during the event. The students will join 478 past scholarship recipients at 12 Texas universities who have received the ICT scholarships since 2002.

UNT’s insurance and risk management program was one of the first three universities to receive ICT scholarships. Funds for the scholarship program come from donations and ICT Property and Casualty Symposium sponsorships by insurance companies, agencies, and individual insurance professionals.

ICT’s scholarships recipients at UNT, in classes taught by Professor Dale Sharpe-Jenkins, include Anthony Barnett, Erika Miller, Landon Wolf, Laura Babcock, Madison Harnist, Maranda Johnson and Kaitlyn Mustico.

Earlier this fall semester, ICT also gave scholarships to ten insurance and risk management students at St. Mary’s University and Baylor University.

ICT scholarship recipients at St. Mary’s University, in classes taught by Dr. David Sommer, were Carina Gonzalez, Rachel Jasso, Michael Hernandez, Estefany Robledo and Jacob Gutierrez.

ICT scholarship recipients at Baylor University, in classes taught by Dr. Jim Garven, were Claire Fogarty, Miles Greenwood, Sam Bode, Camille Wallace and Priya Patel.

In total, the Education Foundation will have given $30,000 this semester to 17 deserving insurance and risk management students. Overall, since 2002, the Education Foundation has awarded $1,002,275 to 485 students at 12 Texas universities.

Source: ICT

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.