Texas Governor Renews Hurricane Harvey Disaster Declaration

August 8, 2018

Texas Governor Greg Abbott has extended the disaster declaration for 60 counties impacted by Hurricane Harvey last year.

Abbott first issued a disaster declaration on Aug. 23, 2017, for Aransas, Austin, Bee, Brazoria, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Harris, Jackson, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kleberg, Lavaca, Liberty, Live Oak, Matagorda, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Victoria, Waller, Wharton, and Wilson counties.

The governor subsequently extended the declaration to Angelina, Atascosa, Bastrop, Bexar, Brazos, Burleson, Caldwell, Cameron, Comal, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Jasper, Kerr, Lee, Leon, Madison, Milam, Montgomery, Newton, Orange, Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Trinity, Tyler, Walker, Washington, and Willacy counties.

In his Aug. 7, 2018, proclamation, Abbott noted that the Harvey disaster declaration was extended on Sept. 20, 2017, and in each subsequent month after that.

In continuing the disaster declaration, Abbott acknowledged that due catastrophic damage caused by Hurricane Harvey a state of disaster continues to exist in the counties listed above.

Hurricane Harvey caused an estimated $125 billion in damage.


Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.