The Hillsborough Public Transportation Commission is upholding a previous ruling that the commission can fine the ridesharing company Lyft for allowing drivers to operate without a county permit.
The Tampa Tribune reports the agency had the right to fine Lyft $200 plus $400 in court fees for violating transportation commission rules. The attorney representing Lyft says the company will appeal the ruling.
The case was the latest skirmish in the ongoing battle between the county and ridesharing companies Lyft and Uber. The county insists the companies get transportation commission permits that include commercial insurance and extra-thorough background checks for all the private drivers that accept Lyft or Uber fares. The county agency has been ticketing Uber and Lyft drivers when they can catch them.
- Uber to Cease Operations in Florida’s Broward County
- Uber Driver Arrested in Florida City for Violating Ordinance
- Uber Fighting California Driver Lawsuit
- Bill Allowing Uber to Stay in South Carolina is Officially Law
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.