Federal Disaster Declared in 3 Mississippi Counties After Floods

March 29, 2016

President Barack Obama has declared a disaster in three Mississippi counties following flooding this month.

Residents in the Bolivar, Coahoma and Washington counties can apply for individual assistance, including grants for temporary housing and repairs worth up to $33,000, as well as low-cost loans and other aid.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says additional counties could be added after damage assessments.

The state counts more than 600 structures with major damage and more than 1,400 with minor damage in the three counties.

People can register online or by calling FEMA.

Mississippi also sought federal aid to repair public infrastructure. The Federal Highway Administration said Thursday it will give $1 million for road repairs.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More News
More News Features