Former Florida Commissioner McCarty Recognized for International Insurance Work

November 15, 2016

The International Association of Insurance Supervisors (IAIS) has recognized former Florida Insurance Commissioner Kevin M. McCarty for his service to international insurance regulation. McCarty is a past president of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) and was nominated by the NAIC for recognition as an IAIS Distinguished Fellow.

“We nominated Kevin to show our gratitude for his decades of work on behalf of U.S. consumers, regulators, and companies during international negotiations and dialogues,” said NAIC President and Missouri Insurance Director John M. Huff. “[McCarty] has been a staunch advocate for effective regulation and a common-sense approach to international standards during his service to both IAIS and NAIC.”

The IAIS Distinguished Fellows program, established in 2004, recognizes former IAIS members for significant contributions to advance IAIS initiatives. McCarty was substantially involved with the IAIS starting in 2008 until his departure as commissioner of the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation this year.

Kevin McCarty

His service at the IAIS included nearly 10 years on the IAIS Executive Committee, acting as co-vice chair for four years. He was also a member of the Technical and Financial Stability Committees, and served as a moderator and panelist at numerous IAIS conferences and global insurance events.

NAIC President-Elect and Wisconsin Insurance Commissioner Ted Nickel accepted the honor on McCarty’s behalf during the IAIS annual conference in Asuncion, Paraguay.

“In my nearly 30 years as an insurance supervisor, I have been fortunate to have had many wonderful experiences,” said McCarty in a prepared statement. “I will say without hesitation, however, that my involvement with the IAIS has been a true career highlight. I have always enjoyed and appreciated my interaction with the talented and dedicated professionals who drive the work of the IAIS.”

The IAIS is a voluntary membership organization of insurance supervisors and regulators from more than 200 jurisdictions in nearly 140 countries. Former IAIS distinguished fellows from the U.S. include Rob Esson, Terri Vaughan, Al Gross, Walter Bell, Alessandro Iuppa, Hanley Clark and David Walsh.

NAIC is the U.S. standard-setting and regulatory support organization created and governed by the chief insurance regulators from the 50 states, the District of Columbia and five U.S. territories.

Topics USA Legislation Florida

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.