Big Independent Group Awards 2018 “Biggies” at Convention

Sponsored Content By | May 11, 2018

Agents association honors best and brightest insurance industry stars

Indian Wells, CA, May 11, 2018- The BIG Independent Group, a leading association of independent agent and brokers, was pleased to bestow its BIGGIE Awards for the 9th year in a row. The 2018 awards, distributed at the association’s annual convention held recently in Indian Wells, CA, is given to insurance professionals, companies and industry advocates for extraordinary contributions to insurance producers and the business as a whole.

Nominees and winners are selected through a poll of BIG members and associates. This year, an email survey was sent to 6,327 contacts in California, 3,686 of those were independent agency owners. Over 600 surveys were returned, and the top five from each category were selected for the poll. A list of nominees was sent to over 6,000 contacts and, generated over 11,000 votes.

“BIG is honored to spearhead these efforts to recognize the dedication of these outstanding individuals and companies. They are instrumental in pushing the insurance industry forward and contribute to the success of producers, here in California and across the country,” commented BIG CEO Jon Spaugy. “The BIGGIE Awards are just our way of saying thanks.”

Here are the nominees and winners of the 2017 BIGGIE Awards:

Standard Marketing Representative of the Year – Cesar Romero — Kemper Specialty California

Nominees: Anna Harris – Progressive, Laurena Marquez – Aspire Insurance Agency, Lisa Valdez – Infinity, Nancy Orozco – Alliance United, Cesar Romero — Kemper Specialty California.

Standard Agency of the Year – City Best Insurance

Nominees: Strong Tie Insurance, Academy Insurance, Rapid Insurance, Quiroz Insurance, City Best Insurance.

Standard Carrier of the Year — Kemper Specialty

Nominees: Alliance United, National General, Infinity, Progressive, Kemper Speciaty

Preferred Marketing Representative of the Year – Missy Alizadeh — Mapfre

Nominees: David Aragon – Progressive, Nancy Trejo – Safeco, Jeff Hahn – Safeco, Blane Bardsley – Arrowhead General Insurance Agency, Missy Alizadeh – Mapfre.

Preferred Insurance Broker of the Year – AIS Auto Insurance Specialists

Nominees: Beach & O’Neil Insurance, Key City Insurance, J.B. Wright Insurance,, Pauma Valley Insurance, AIS Auto Insurance Specialists.

Preferred Carrier of the Year – Safeco

Nominees: QBE, Mercury, Mapfre, Stillwater, Safeco.

MGA of the Year – Builders and Tradesmen’s Insurance Services

Nominees: Arrowhead General Insurance Agency, RIC, RMIS, Tapco Underwriters,Builders and Tradesmen’s Insurance Services.

Vendor of the Year – Record Guardian

Nominees: EZ Lynx, Vertafore/FSC, Hawksoft, LightSpeed Voioce, Record Guardian

Technology Company of The Year — ITC

Nominees: Record Guardian, EZ Lynx, Hawksoft, Applied Systems, ITC

Premium Finance Company of the Year — Top Premium Finance

Nominees: AFX/IBEX, Capital Premium Finance, GAAC, Cypress Premium Finance, Top Premium Finance.

Agency Group of the Year — Iroquois Group

Nominees: Networked Insurance, WIAA Group, Superior Access, SIAA, Iroquois Group

2018 BIG Legend Award — Andy Bloom

“I would like to point out that, in many categories, the margin for winning was razor-thin,” said Adam Meyerson, a longtime BIG leader and emcee of the awards presentations. “Our industry has a great deal of talent associated with it, and our BIGGIE awards are just our small way of recognizing that.”

# # #

Media Contact
Jon Spaugy

Topics California

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.