South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley (R) signed into law legislation on June 9 restricting texting while driving, making South Carolina the 49th state to have such a ban.
Under the new law, it is illegal for anyone, regardless of age, to “use a wireless electronic communication device to compose, send or read a text-based communication while operating a motor vehicle on the public streets and highways of this state.” Drivers must be fully parked to be able to text using a wireless handheld device. The law includes exceptions for GPS navigators and texting while driving to contact emergency services.
Drivers would face fines from $25 up to the maximum of $50. Those found at fault would not receive penalty points.
The ban overrides any local ordinances that might vary.
Only Montana still does not ban texting while driving.