People and Places

October 9, 2006

Ernie Csiszar resigned from the Property Casualty Insurers Association of America. PCI has launched a national search for a new CEO. June Holmes, PCI’s current chief operating officer, will serve as the interim CEO.

Dave Evans is the executive director of the Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America’s Trusted Choice consumer marketing identity program. He will oversee the association’s communications department and Independent Agent magazine. He replaces Jeff Myers.

American International Group Inc. named a former Citigroup president and chief operating officer, Robert B. Willumstad, as chairman, effective Nov. 1. Willumstad will be an ex-officio non-voting member of each standing committee of the board. He succeeds Frank G. Zarb, who has served as interim chairman since April 2005. Zarb remains an AIG director and will continue as a non-voting member of each standing committee of the board.

In connection with the transition of the responsibilities, Morris W. Offit will succeed Willumstad as chairman of the Finance Committee and Michael H. Sutton will succeed Offit as chairman of the Audit Committee. Offit will continue to serve as a member of the Audit Committee.

The Allstate Corp. announced Edward M. Liddy, currently chairman and CEO, plans to step down as CEO at the end of 2006. Thomas J. Wilson, president and chief operating officer, who has been elected to the Allstate board of directors, will succeed Liddy at that time as CEO. Wilson will retain the role and title of president. The chief operating officer role will not be filled.

Liddy will be chairman until his retirement in spring 2008. He has been chairman and CEO since January 1999.

The National Association of Professional Insurance Agents installed new officers. Donna Pile is president; Robert P. Page is president-elect; Kenneth R. Auerbach is vice president/treasurer; Jon D. Spalding is secretary/assistant treasurer; and outgoing PIA National President Ray L. Peretti is immediate past president.

Willis North America named Don Bailey CEO. Bailey, currently Willis North America’s chief operating officer, succeeds Mario P. Vitale. Concurrent with his promotion, Bailey joins the Willis Partners Group, the company’s management committee.

Zurich named Mario P. Vitale CEO of its Global Corporate North America operations. In this newly created position, Vitale will report to Geoff Riddell, CEO of Zurich Global Corporate, and will work with Zurich North America Commercial to ensure optimal alignment of the two business divisions. He will be based in New York City.

The National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies presented its 2006 Service Awards to: Herman Bontrager, president and CEO of Goodville Mutual Casualty Co.; Arthur Meadows, CEO of Panhandle Farmers Mutual Insurance Co.; Kevin Meskell, executive vice president of Quincy Mutual Fire Insurance Co.; John K. Smith, president of Pennsylvania Lumbermens Mutual Insurance Co.; and Terry Wendorff, president and CEO of WRC Group of Companies.

ACE Ltd.named Lori Samson chief administration officer for its Bermuda-based operations. She assumes the administrative responsibilities from Keith White, executive officer, Bermuda Companies, who will retire at the end of the year after 17 years of service.

Bermuda-based Quanta Capital Holdings Ltd. named Peter D. Johnson president and CEO. Johnson succeeds interim CEO Robert Lippincott III.

Integro’s San Francisco office named Andrew T. Starnes a principal in the Property Practice. Starnes joins Integro from Allianz Global Risks U.S., where he was western region manager of business development.

Ken Nigohosian joined the management team of the Western Insurance Agents Association. He has more than a quarter of a century of insurance industry experience, most recently serving as executive director of the Alliance of Insurance Agents and Brokers.

Rusty Young of Lovestad-Worthington in Bothell, Wash., has died of a heart attack.

“Rusty was a long time supporter of IBA West and its predecessor organizations and has been an active participant in the government affairs of the association for many years,” said Dale Newell, IBA West Pacific Chapter executive director. Insurance Journal regrets the loss.

The Professional Insurance Agents of Oregon/Idaho elected John Desmarteau president and a new board of directors, and gave out a number of awards. Desmarteau, member/owner of Beaver Insurance, will serve until May 2007. Other PIA Oregon/Idaho Board of Directors include: Pete Lackner, president elect, Rose City Associates; Gary Steffen, vice president, Safe and Sound Insurance & Amigos Aseguranzas; Chris Huwalt, treasurer, Western States Insurance; Glenda Lile, secretary, MIDSTATE Insurance Agency; John Faherty, national director, Fullerton & Co.; and Randy Carlton, past president, Cascade Insurance Center.

Individuals recognized were: Agent of the Year Gary Steffen; Company Person of the Year Bryan Stanwood of Mutual of Enumclaw; CSR of the Year Cathy Rottle of Portland, Ore.’s Fournier Group; American Association of Managing General Agencies Award recipient Roger Baird of Zurich North America Small Business; Blinders Award recipient Herm Deiss of Mid Valley General Agency; Chairperson of the Year Ron Manza; Specialty Lines Company Representative of the Year Jani Campbell of Unitrin Specialty; and Presidential Citation recipient Bill Bingle of Oregon Mutual.

Dale Longfellow of Hobson Insurance was elected president of the Independent Insurance Agents of Montana. His daughter, Kristy Longfellow Hodik, was named president of the Young Agents for the State of Montana.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.

From This Issue

Insurance Journal West October 9, 2006
October 9, 2006
Insurance Journal West Magazine

The Future for Agents\’ E & O