According to a USA Today report, less than one year after it was implemented, a New York law has netted the state at least $4.6 million in additional revenues as police have ticketed 45,781 motorists for DWT, that is, Driving While Talking.
The law, which took effect Nov. 1, 2001, provides for a $100 fine for a first offense, a $200 hit for offense number two, and $500 for each offense after that.
Exceptions are made for drivers fearing for their safety, reporting traffic accidents or calling 911. Hands-free talkers and CB’ers are also exempt. Law enforcement officials must catch drivers in the act of talking while driving to make a traffic stop.
Topics New York
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.
Private Jet’s Pilot Reported Turbulence Before Florida Crash
US Court Reinstates ‘Sunday Ticket’ Class Action Verdict Against NFL
WSJ Wins Dismissal of Trump’s $10 Billion Defamation Suit
Florida Appeals Court Bars Release of ‘Trade Secret’ Info in Heritage Claims Litigation 

